Kejriwal Drops Four Former Ministers, Sisodia Likely To Be Deputy CM

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) sprang a surprise on Thursday by re-appointing just two of the six ministers who were part of the Arvind Kejriwal-led government last year.

Kejriwal’s close aide and Patparganj MLA Manish Sisodia will feature in the new cabinet — and he is likely to get the deputy CM’s post. Sisodia was the minister for education, PWD, urban development and local bodies in 2013. He is expected to deliver a better school system.

Satyendra Jain (Shakur Basti), who came into the limelight for spot checks in Delhi government hospitals in AAP’s last cabinet as the health minister, will also be retained. He has been associated with Kejriwal from the days of Anna Hazare’s anti-corruption agitation.

The new ministers are: Asim Ahmed (Matia Mahal), Jitendra Tomar (Trinagar), Gopal Rai (Babarpur) and Sandeep Kumar (Sultanpur). The Delhi government has the provision for six ministers.

Former ministers Somnath Bharti, Rakhi Birla, Girish Soni (AAP’s Dalit face) and Saurabh Bhardwaj were given the sack.