2016 World T20 in India in March-April.

India will host the ICC World Twenty20 2016 tournament from 11 March to 3 April, International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today.

This will be the first time that India will be hosting a World T20 tournament. So far there have been 5 editions of the event with India winning the inaugural one in 2007 in South Africa.

Hosted every two years, no team has won the tournament twice. After India’s triumph in 2007, Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012) and Sri Lanka (2014) took the trophy. At the ICC Board meeting in Dubai yesterday (January 28), the dates for World T20 2016 were confirmed along with other ICC events till 2019. The 2019 World Cup will be held in England from 30 May to 15 July. England will also host 2017 Champions Trophy from 1 June to 19 June.